Travel Stress

by

Marc,

I was writing this for my travel log over at Tumblr, but I thought you would appreciate my fashionista dilemma too.

My Battered Yellow Suitcase

My Battered Yellow Suitcase

You know I’m a packing ninja.  I have this shit down to a science.  Very rarely does a trip come along and take me off my game.  Next week I’m leaving for a two week trip.  A doozy. Three places while I’m gone; New York, Paris and Ireland.  Distinctly different styles.  Working in New York, lounging in Paris and hoofing it in Ireland.  It’s stressing me out.  What am I going to wear in all three places?

I’m packing one carry-on suitcase and a lap-top backpack for this trip.  I never, ever, ever check luggage.  If you knew what I knew about airlines, you wouldn’t either.  I don’t care how many pairs of shoes you think you need, never do it.  After I pack all the essentials I don’t really have much room in the back-pack, so it’s all about my packing skills in the spinner.

Packing in itself isn’t hard for me.  I’ve learned a lot of tricks over the years.  Firstly, roll everything.  Really tight. Go against general wisdom and bring a lot of light fabrics like cotton and merino wool.  These fabrics take up little to no room and are easy to steam.  Stuff your underwear into your shoes. Don’t even bother packing socks.  Filler! Buy them cheap wherever you are and throw them out.  Sleep in as little as possible. Pack clothes that are all in the same color family, so you can get multiple outfits from each piece.  This is the challenging part for me because you know I love color, but I try to make it work.

One of the biggest mistakes that packing rookies make?  Too many toiletries.  Girl, you have to resist the urge to bring everything you use at home.  I never bring a toothbrush or toothpaste with me.  Hotels have them, why take up the room?  For the most part, travel messes with your hair and skin anyway.  Nothing you do can combat that.  Just find one or two essentials and if you have room for them, pack them.  If not?  Leave it all at home and grab suitable replacements on the road that you can ditch at the end of your trip.  You will survive if your hair doesn’t smell like Pantene for a week and you might actually find a new product that you love.

With all that said, there are things I cannot travel without.

  1. Noise-canceling headphones
  2. Kindle
  3. Mascara, eye shadow and bronzer
  4. iPod
  5. Kiehls Mosturizer (sample packets)
  6. iPhone
  7. Good old fashioned chapstick
  8. Eye rewetting drops
  9. DS Lite
  10. Extra contacts and my glasses

Anything more than these items, their requisite cords, and clothes is a bonus and probably wholly unnecessary.

I’m glad I got to share this with you.  I’ve still stressed out, but  I do have the whole weekend to pack my bags.  I can do this. If I can just follow my own rules, I should be fine.  If not, that’s what they invented Fedex for, right?

XO

Jamie

P.S.  Cannot wait to see you in May.  Counting down the days!  21 sleeps!

3 Responses to “Travel Stress”

  1. Kat Says:

    Girl, you are my hero. I’ve got a mega-trip coming up and I’ve been obsessing over what to pack. This is extremely helpful. Thank you!

  2. m000se Says:

    well, your only fault that I know is you leave something at my house every time you’re here. but i secretly think its like leaving undies in a man’s bed. gives you a reason to contact the girl. don’t worry Jamie, you won’t lose me if you remember your Mac charger. 🙂

    • Jamie Says:

      Damn! You found me out. I was doing it as a leave behind. I guess it wasn’t really working anyway. You never want to snuggle with me on the couch.

Leave a Reply

