On the Road Again…

by
Austin, Texas

Austin, Texas

Marc,

I’m on the road again!  After I saw you last weekend, I spent a week in Austin, Texas for South by Southwest.  I wish you would have been there with me. SXSW was an incredible thing, but it was overwhelming.  Being all alone did not help.  You know I’m the farthest thing from a wallflower, but even I had a hard time adjusting.  Going to party after party by yourself will give a girl a complex.  But the music.  Ahhhh the music.  You would have loved it.  20+ shows to choose from every hour.  So many new bands to discover, so many adorable men to oogle, so many ironic mustaches to mock.  I saw a lot of shows, but my favorites were Cold War Kids, Airborne Toxic Event, Blitzen Trapper and Andrew Bird.  I also heard a lot of crap music, but I’m not mean enough to talk about that here.  So sad you couldn’t experience it with me.  Next year?

Airborne Toxic Event

Airborne Toxic Event

Now, after two relatively lazy days in LA, I’m back on the road.  This time it’s New York for six days.  I’ve written before about how I feel about New York.  I’m going to try really hard this week to make the best of my trip.  Get out on the town and enjoy the nice weather (please god, let there be nice weather). My hotel is only a few blocks from Central Park, so at the very least I should be able to get over there and walk around.   No more of this hiding in the hotel crap.  I mean it.  Hold me to it.  Call me every day and ask me what I’m seeing.  What I’m doing.  Kick my ass!  I need a little motivation.

photo-105

Yeah, I'm Faking It.

You know what else I need?  Sleep.  Something is wrong with me.  You’ve slept with me, you know what I’m like.  It usually takes me 30 seconds to fall asleep and I stay asleep until my alarm tragically wakes me up. Not anymore, apparently.  I spent 5 out of the last 10 nights wide awake past at least 3:00 in the morning. I have absolutely no idea what’s wrong with me.  Is it because I’m getting old?  I’m not stressed out, I’m not thinking about heavy decisions.  I’ve never had any issue sleeping in hotels before, so I don’t think it’s the weird bed thing. I don’t even drink coffee!  I’ve tried just about everything.  Meditating (Can you picture that?), counting sheep, warm milk, furry PJs, sexy PJs, warm air, cold air, showers, baths, massages and Pringles.  Alright, so the Pringles might not have been for the insomnia.  What? I was hungry.

Next step?  Good old fashioned drugs.  I’ll let you know how it’s going this week when you call to yell at me about hiding in my hotel.

XO

JD

3 Responses to “On the Road Again…”

  1. m000se Says:

    you know, it hit me in my early 30’s. it does most people. you just don’t fall asleep the same. I’ve been taking Melatonin for 10 years now. its good. but you might never get that 20something sleep back. 😦
    and by the by, nice mention of “you’ve slept with me”. that didn’t sound dirty at all.

  2. Jamie Says:

    Well, technically we HAVE slept together.

    I’ve got to keep up with all the gay crushiness around here, dirty’s all I’ve got.

  3. m000se Says:

    and by the way, so jealous you saw Blitzen Trapper!

Leave a Reply

