What Do You Get When You Combine Sleazy and Sexy?

by

Marc,

chuck-bass-gossip-girl.jpg

Modern Preppy

When I was younger I really went for the preppy type.  The closer the boys got to a J. Crew ad, the more I found them attractive.  If they wore pink, khaki or any kind of plaid, I was in. Sports with a racquet and/or clubs?  Bonus points.  I was in so deep, Bass buck shoes gave me the vapors.  I dated a guy named Trace for god’s sake. Over the years, though, my tastes have shifted just a bit.  Don’t get me wrong, I still adore tennis whites down at the club, but I have learned to appreciate other types of men too.

Last year I was having a discussion with my sister-in-law, Eileen, about Dane Cook.  I mentioned that I find him very funny.  It helps that I also have a deep appreciation of his penchant for getting completely naked for movie roles.  I don’t know what it is, but there is just something about him that I find attractive.  That’s when she said it:

“Oh, yeah.  He’s slexy.”

In that moment I realized she had introduced me to what would become my very favorite word. (Thanks Eileen!)

Slexy
adj. To be considered sleazy and sexy at the same time. Usually a male characteristic.

It’s genius.  It’s also a VERY good thing.  Hair a little too long?  Visible tattoos?  Dirty, dirty mouth? Yep, all slexy traits.

Colin Farrell…slexy.
Denis Leary…slexy.
Johnny Knoxville…slexy.
Mickey Rourke (circa 1984)…slexy.
Benicio Del Toro…slexy.

Who else could you describe as slexy?

Marc, don’t worry, I haven’t given up on the plaid-boxer type altogether.  Even after all these years, Chris O’Donnell still gets my blood pumping, but I’m willing to admit that there are other types of boys worth having crushes on.  And really, isn’t that what makes the world go round?

XOXO

JD

*I purposely leave Johnny Depp off the list even though he could be considered the patron saint of slexy because I think he probably smells like patchouli and dirty underwear.  I suppose I’d be willing to reconsider if you have strong feelings on the matter, but you’ll have to make a serious case for his inclusion.

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “What Do You Get When You Combine Sleazy and Sexy?”

  1. emmajames47 Says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for this post! It is brilliant and I completely agree with every single choice. I have a special crush on Colin Farrell, I must admit. And I must add Tim Roth and Mark Strong. Something about those boys from across the pond…

  2. emmajames47 Says:

    Okay, my computer just crashed as I was submitting my comment so here it goes again… thank you, thank you, thank you for this post!! I love your word, completely agree with your selections, and have a special place in my heart for Colin Farrell. I would also add Tim Roth and Mark Strong to your list – something about the boys from across the pond – they slay me.

  3. Janet Says:

    I wold have to exchange Johnny Depp for Mickey Rourke I just can’t get by that gold tooth..

  4. m000se Says:

    i’m totally with you on this one. Especially Johnny Knoxville. But I think my tastes are even cruder. I’d let most of those Jackass boys do crude stunts off my ramps!
    Also: STP era Scott Weiland, current Eric Niess, and my friends Eric Himan and Jinx Titanic. Grrr.

  5. Eileen Says:

    I just read this and I am so flattered by the semi-anonymous shout-out (take that, Amy!). I embrace slexy! I love your choices, but here’s my absolute ambassador of slexy who was grossly overlooked in your list: Tommy Lee!!

  6. Alison Says:

    I’m going to have to say Becks is pretty Slexy as well. I love this new word, I am going to have to introduce it to the 309 [aka my house].

  7. Isabelle Says:

    I have never heard of that word before but its actually cool
    I agree with the people on the list but i have to admit a do have a crush on the gorgeous Johnny Knoxville its just smething about him that i attracts me =D

  8. Shannon Says:

    I would have to agree with everyone on the list, I think Bret Michaels should be added to it!! I do have to admit I thought all these guys were just sexy before hearing this new term.

Leave a Reply

