This Week is Monumental

by

Marc,

A couple of incredible things are happening this week.

birthday.jpg1) I turn 32. I know everyone has birthdays. Other people need not think today is a special day, but I do. I’m officially kind of old. Yes, I know. Everyone older than me who reads this will say, “32 is not old”. But, you know what? It sort of is.  Here’s why:

I predict that the BABY questions will increase exponentially now.  It seems to me that 32 is the age where people will start to worry about my eggs drying up.  My answer will be basically the same at 32 as it was at 31. Thank you for your concern.  Please mind your own damn business.

The last time I went to visit my dermatologist he sat me down on the table and said, “How old are you?”  I smiled, thinking he was going to compliment me on looking so young for my age, “31, almost 32.”  He smiled back and said, “Well Jamie, when you hit 32, it’s about time to start using eye cream everyday.” It is?  Wait, IT IS?  My genius reply,”I thought eye cream was for old people.” It turns out, it is.

%7B9CCD4EB0-DAA3-433D-A61D-8BA4500CA0E5%7D_Lesotho.gifIf I was born in Lesotho, I would probably have less than 10 years left to live. I wish this wasn’t true, but I’m afraid it is. Lesotho is one of the African countries with the highest occurrence of HIV/AIDS.  As of last year, nearly a quarter of the adult population in Lesotho was HIV positive and of that population, only 30% are receiving regular treatment. There are many African nations dealing with these (and other) results of extreme poverty.  I mention Lesotho only because I had the great privilege a few years ago of spending time with a group of kids from Lesotho and they made an indelible impact on my life. By kids, I mean that they were about 20 years old, and middle aged.  I seem to be frightfully old in comparison.

For more information about how you can fight extreme poverty and preventable diseases, please take a moment to visit my friends over at The ONE Campaign.

2.) Today is Martin Luther King Junior Day.  I often share my day with this holiday and as a kid it was all kinds of awesome, because I usually got a day off from school on my birthday.  Sure, we learned about MLK and what he meant to our country from our history books, but if I’m being honest, it never REALLY sunk in.  As an adult (especially an old one), I have been thinking more and more about the legacy Dr. King left behind.  EVERYONE should take a moment today to think about what they can do in their life to be more like MLK and how we can shift our focus just enough to begin helping others in a meaningful way.  I’m not one for quotes or preachy speeches, but it’s my birthday, so suck it up.

One of the great liabilities of history is that all too many people fail to remain awake through great periods of social change. Every society has its protectors of the status quo and its fraternities of the indifferent who are notorious for sleeping through revolutions. But today our very survival depends on our ability to stay awake, to adjust to new ideas, to remain vigilant and to face the challenge of change.

3.) Tomorrow is Barack Obama’s Inauguration. I’m going to keep this short because far smarter and eloquent people have written tomes on why tomorrow is a historic day.  You can read a few of my favorites here, and here.  The past eight years, politically and socially, have been dark times for many of us (and I would contend the entire country, even if 42% of you disagree).  On the eve of this inauguration, I am incredibly hopeful that we have found a leader to bring us back some semblance of honor in the international community and take rational steps to make the US the kind of country it has the potential to be.  This is a lot to ask of one man, I know, but I deserve the dream.  It’s my birthday after all.

Marc, wish you were here!  I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow during the inauguration!

XO

Jamie

Tags: , ,

One Response to “This Week is Monumental”

  1. futiledemocracy Says:

    From an English point of view, it’s almost impressive that Bush is less popular than Nixon.
    I will be watching the inauguration tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

