Seven Things About Me

by

Marc*,

Hanging about on twitter, like I do, I got tagged by @joeschmitt to write seven things people don’t know about me.  I tried to think of things that you wouldn’t know too, but you pretty much know everything there is (including some things I wish NO ONE knew), so here’s my best effort to entertain the twitter folks and you.

Dunk!

Dunk!

1.    When I first went away to college I was an art major.  Photography specifically.  Sports photojournalism exactly.  I’m not sure if most of the people who know me would think that made sense.  I suspect some would, because they know I love watching sports, but some wouldn’t because they see me as a really girly girl.  Anyways, whether you get it or not, I thrived on the sidelines.  Think about it, boys and sports, it’s a fantastic match.  I was good at it too.  Fast action photography in natural light has always been my thing.  While at Northern Illinois University, I was a photo editor on the daily paper and traveled with the football team.  I did some awesome work and even won a few awards from different College Press Associations.  I quit for a lot of reasons, but mostly I was sick of the artsy kids thinking I wasn’t angsty enough.  Life is too short.

2.    I despise socks.  Hate them.  I avoid wearing them at all costs.  Even when I lived in the tundra (Chicago), I wouldn’t wear them unless completely necessary.  There were many days where I thought I might lose a toe civil war style, but I made it through.  Now that I’m in LA, I almost never wear them. Which if I’m being honest, is probably one of the reasons I moved here. I barely have more than 3 pairs.  Exceptions: working out, bowling and roller-skating.

3.    I read a lot.  I’ve been a reader since, well, I learned to read.  I cannot ever get enough.   When I was in eighth grade, we got to pick from a set of exploratory (read: blow off) classes to take.  Most of the kids chose painting or music classes.  I picked speed-reading.  It was an extremely unpopular choice among 13 year olds, as you can imagine, but I didn’t care.  I LOVED it.  At the height of training I could read about 650 words per minute with 95% retention rate.  It isn’t record breaking or anything, but a super helpful skill to have.  I’ve slowed down a little in my old age, but if I really get going, I’ve been known to read 5-7 books in a week.  Let’s not even talk about the 45ish magazines and newspapers I typically inhale each month.  I’m very sorry about that Mother Earth.

4.    I hate water chestnuts, melon and olives.  Water chestnuts are garbage.  They make absolutely no sense whatsoever.  Tasteless, obtrusive and disgusting.  Melon I at least kind of understand.  It’s sweet, people like sweet.  I consider it unnecessary filler.  Melons are like the packing noodles of fruit.  Think about it.  It’s the cheapest fruit you can buy.  That’s why it’s pervasive in every single fruit salad on this green earth.  I won’t eat anything that’s even touched melon.  So gross.  Olives make the most sense to me.  I see why people love them.  They’re salty and can have real depth of flavor.  I just happen to think they are also incredibly foul.  Luckily, they are the kind of ingredient that one can simply pick out of an otherwise great meal.

5.    I am horrible at one of the things that gives me the most joy in life:  singing.  I cannot carry a tune, I’m so incredibly bad.  I enjoy it above pretty much all other things.  I love music so much and singing along is a huge part of that experience for me.  Singing with George Michael in the shower, impersonating Elton John in the kitchen while fixing dinner, rocking out to Morrisey in the car.  It’s all just torture for every single person in my path that can hear me.  I’m sorry for that (not really), but I’m never going to stop.

Inside this shirt is one terrific kid!

Inside this shirt is one terrific kid!

6.    I had an amazing childhood.  I am easily irritated with adults that are still harping on how bad their childhoods were and how much it screwed them up.  Perhaps it’s because I simply cannot relate.  Listen, I am a product of a divorce.  My mom and dad split when I was six months old.  I recognize that this could have been very bad.  But it just wasn’t.  I probably have the most awesome mom in the world, and I’m sure it was harder for her than I know, but we just made it work.  We had an awesome support system in my beloved grandparents and extended family, and we had each other.  Then when I was about five my mom met my step-dad again (they actually graduated high school together) and fell in love.  He was the best thing that ever could have happened to us.  He is my dad (forget the “step”) and together they had my brother and sister who are the coolest kids ever.  We have always had a nice home, food to eat, laughter, fun and above all, each other.  Thanks mom!

7.    I’ve been to some really interesting events during my 31 years.  I was at the 1996 Democratic Convention.  I attended the 2002 Olympics in Salt Lake City.  I’ve been backstage at the Grammy’s.  I’ve gone to the Cannes, Toronto, Chicago, Los Angeles and Sundance film festivals.  I’ve worked on a high profile project for the Oprah show.  I’ve been on set during filming of a major television program.  Marc, you’ve been with me during some of the coolest things.  Remember when we saw Coldplay in a venue that holds less than 1000 people?  One of the coolest rock experiences ever (next to meeting Sting). I swear I’m not bragging, really, I’m not.  I just consider myself incredibly lucky to have had these experiences and cannot wait to see what comes next!

So those are the seven things I could think of.  If you asked me tomorrow, I’m sure they’d be different, if just as weird.

XOXO
JD

*For those of you who aren’t familiar with the format of my blog, Marc is one of my best friends in Chicago.  We decided to start this blog as a way to talk to each other because I up and left him in the cold to move to Los Angeles.  Our posts are letters to each other about what’s going on in our lives and other really frivolous things.

Tags:

5 Responses to “Seven Things About Me”

  1. Janet Says:

    …love you. Mom

  2. m000se Says:

    ok, knew all but the sock thing! really. never noticed but have never seen you in them!

  3. Kelly Says:

    Some things I have in common with Jamie. Yes, of course, the reading, but the socks thing. Odd. There are two kinds of people in the world. People who can sleep with socks on and the normal people who know that it is not healthy. If I was in an internment camp, I would sell my socks for a nice bowl of soup. I am also lucky enough to be a “hot foot” person. Two weeks after I am dead my feet will still be warm.

    Also, how anyone can intentionally ingest an olive is beyond my imagination. You and I can be pizza partners. Plus, why has Oz the all-powerful cursed those who love to sing the most with the worst voices. I make most American Idol contestants look talented.

  4. emma james Says:

    I completely support the water chestnut thing. Truly a waste of space on the planet.

    And you were the cutest kid – holy crap! I now know why you can claim to have had a happy childhood – your mother gave you good haircuts and dressed you in rad t-shirts. It explains everything.

  5. Mike Says:

    Great read. I love finding people that have a passion for Speed Reading.

Leave a Reply

