Embarrasing, So Embarrasing.

by

Marc,

Oh no! I’m having a crises of epic proportions and it’s musical.  Maybe you can help?

As you know, I bought a new car.  I love my car.  It’s so shiny, pretty and fast.  Here’s the problem: Everyone can hear everything I’m listening to.  With the top down, unless you’re on the highway, you’re totally exposed.  There are no boundaries to hold in your music.  Stop at a stoplight and your near neighbors can hear exactly what you’ve picked out.  For instance, this weekend I was driving down the street in Beverly Hills.  I stopped at a stoplight just as my iPod changed from perfectly respectable, “Sex on Fire” by Kings of Leon to “Low” by Flo Rida.  Don’t get me wrong, I love that song.  Love.  Love.  Love.  Love. It does seem, however, that it shouldn’t be blasting out of a Volkswagen Eos with ME in the driver seat.  It isn’t really gansta or anything, but still not quite right.  The people in the lane next to me agreed.  They were howling with laughter. Not the worst thing to ever happen, but kind of embarrassing.

I now realize I’m not safe when I go to work either.  When I first signed up for Twitter, I was really worried that I wouldn’t have enough to say, so I set up a Twitterfeed to populate Twitter with my recently played songs from Last.fm.  I set the limit to five an hour so it isn’t annoying and it’s been a great little addition to my twitterverse even when I am prolific tweeter.  So usually I just listen to whatever I feel like from iTunes, it updates and that’s it.  There isn’t anything too embarrasing on my work computer, so it isn’t really an issue.  Until today. (Sidebar: I went and saw Twilight this weekend.  Uh huh, actually on Friday.  I knew it would be awesomely bad, just like the books and I was not disappointed.) I was also pleasantly surprised that I really liked the soundtrack.  I already own “Supermassive Black Hole” by Muse, and the brilliant “Flightless Bird, American Mouth” by Iron & Wine, but I heard another song that I loved.  It turned out it was sung by Robert Pattinson.  Who, in addition to being smokin’ hot as Edward the bad boy Vampire with a heart of gold (see photo), is a pretty great singer.

Rob Pattinson – Never Think

Of course, I had to buy the whole damn soundtrack to get those songs.  Again, I like the music, that isn’t the issue.  The problem is that when I listen to the music, you can see I’m listening to the Twilight Soundtrack on last.fm and Twitter.  Frankly, it’s embarrassing.  It’s one thing to read stupid teenage books in the comfort of my own home, it’s another entirely, to tell the world.

I’m not sure this has ever happened to me before.  Sure, I have guilty pleasures.  Who doesn’t?  But I don’t think they’ve ever felt quite so guilty before.  Now I’m second guessing everything I listen to.  I’ve created car-appropriate playlists so no one will think I’m a weirdo and I actually disabled Last.fm today so I could listen to Rob Pattinson in peace.  But what if I want to blast George Michael?  What if I feel like a little Labyrinth Soundtrack?  Should it matter what other people think?  I should be secure enough in my music taste that I don’t care…but I do.  Because for all the stupid shit I love to listen to, I really really do take pride in the other stuff.  Music is important to me, important to my life and I’m afraid people won’t realize that when they hear Eric Carmine’s, “All By Myself” come blasting out of my car. What…?  I was in a lonely mood.

Please tell me I’m not being shallow?  If I am, you still love me, right?

XO

Jamie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Embarrasing, So Embarrasing.”

  1. matty Says:

    Great song. Nice work in this find.

  2. The Buzz » Blog Archive » Embarrasing, So Embarrasing. « Ord To Lax Says:

    […] (Sidebar: I went and saw Twilight this weekend. Uh huh, actually on Friday. I knew it would be awesomely bad, just like the books and I was not disappointed.) I was also pleasantly surprised that I really liked the soundtrack. …[Continue Reading] […]

  3. - Are You Riled Up? - » Blog Archive » Embarrasing, So Embarrasing. « Ord To Lax Says:

    […] (Sidebar: I went and saw Twilight this weekend. Uh huh, actually on Friday. I knew it would be awesomely bad, just like the books and I was not disappointed.) I was also pleasantly surprised that I really liked the soundtrack. …[Continue Reading] […]

  4. Andrew Says:

    Hmm, I think the key to overcoming this issue, Jamie, is to have no shame…like me!

  5. David Says:

    I have no shame when it comes to music coming from my car. I don’t care what people think.

    Except for showtunes, but everything else is fair game. Showtunes at a stoplight. Nope, that does scare me.

    Just hit the shuffle on the iPod. Ah, thank you, a little Night Ranger.

    Night Ranger?

  6. Joe Schmitt Says:

    I think you just need to have the Next button handy just like the old PANIC button on the PC version of Tetris. It instantly pulled up a generic spreadsheet for times when the boss walked by.

    Or maybe Apple will come out with a plug-in to iTunes that uses the motion sensor to change songs or playlists when it stops moving.

    But this really begs the question of what should “be blasting out of a Volkswagen Eos with ME in the driver seat”? What would match with the car and the look of the girl driving it? What doesn’t get the mocking laughter? Coldplay? The soundtrack to Lost in Translation?

Leave a Reply

