A Few of My Favorite Things

by

Marc,

You like stuff as much as I do (I know you do, so don’t try and lie about it). I really miss the days when we got to talk daily about our new discoveries.  Like when I bought an iPod and you declared that they weren’t worth the money.  Remember that?  Or when you told me about myspace for the first time and I immediately joined?  So I’m bringing that tradition back.  I’ve decided to periodically share with you my newest favorite things. They won’t be as special as whiskers on kittens, but these posts will be all about the things that are making my life better/more fun/easier to manage. 

My inaugural favorite things post is a freebie, you don’t even have to spend money…technically.

"...and all that money makes such a succulent sound..."

"miss christina drives a .944..."

Music playlists are a way of life.  You’re either a person who understands how to make a good one or you’re not.  It’s a skill like writing or drawing.  It cannot be learned along the way.  You have to feel a good mix.  As far as I’m concerned, it’s a birthright and you and I have been blessed with the gift. 

Except now thanks to the latest version of iTunes and it’s Genius Bar, everyone has the ability to share in our knowledge. I’ve been using the genius function for a couple weeks and it’s proven to be pretty intuitive.  I’m not going to go into all the math and algorythms involved, because I’m too stupid to understand them and I don’t really give a shit, but if it interests you, you can hear about them here.  Basically, when you turn genius on in iTunes it begins to collect information about your music tracks.  It then uses this information and the information it’s gathered from other users to group similar music together.  After you’ve completed the information gathering stage, you can start to build playlists with it.

To make a genius playlist in iTunes, you just highlight a song you like and click the genius button.  That’s it.  A new playlist based on that track will pop up.  After you’ve looked at the playlist, you can choose to refresh it (adding new suggestions) or save it as a new playlist.  Obviously, this function works best for people that have a lot of music available in their library.  The more music you have, the more accurate your results will be and the more you will actually like your playlists!  

"...satisfaction oozes from her pores..."

"...satisfaction oozes from her pores..."

I have over 9000 tracks in my library and consistently listen to maybe 600 of them.  The rest stay dormant until I happen to think about them or I accidently hit the space bar with my boob and they start to play. Genius has been a fabulous tool to rediscovering some of the great stuff in my library that I never think to listen to.  Just the other day, it added David + David’s hit, Welcome to the Boomtown to a playlist.  Not a song I listen to frequently, but I love it nonetheless.  Good find iTunes!

With all that said, it isn’t perfect.  I definitely noticed some gaps in it’s information.  I couldn’t get it to generate a playlist from Flo Rida’s, Low (Stop laughing. I mean it.  I love that song!) and that’s a relatively new and popular song.  I have also noticed that it uses the same songs over and over again. I’m not sure if that has to do with the frequency in which I play them or their ratings, but I would like it to be a little more original sometimes.  Ultimately though, Genius is a fabulous time saver for a list maker like myself.  I don’t think I will ever give up the hand-crafted playlist, but it really serves its purpose when you’re in a rush or you have a taste for a certain kind of song.  

Marc, have you tried it yet?  What do you think?  

XO

Jamie

PS. How’s your iPod?

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things”

  1. lala Says:

    Ok, non-sequitur but I need to vent:

    so I loves me my iphone and was an early adopter and all that, but I lost mine last week at the ArcLight so I bought a new one ( cool new apps!) but now I can’t get reception in my own damn house/business. WTF??

  2. Jamie Says:

    Laura,
    I hear you. I’m on my third iPhone. 1. Stolen. 2. Dropped in the toilet. 3. Sucks big donkey balls. It does not work anywhere near as well as the other two. The reception sucks, battery life sucks. I think it’s a lemon. The problem is that I don’t have time to deal with it.

    Can you take it back?

Leave a Reply

