Trapped indoors with a fabulous CD player, Volume 1…

by

…since Desert Island Disc listing are so cliche! I mean, if you were on a desert island, if there were any left, how would you plug your damned player in. Really!

I just got the new Keane and Dead Confederate CDs today and both were revelations. Keane, because its so good it made me remember how brilliant the first CD, Hopes and Dreams was, and DC because every once in a while you hear an artist new to you and they make that perfect CD that renews your faith in music, just like many folks see Nirvana’s Nevermind (which I think is an overrated piece of crap). So, here’s 5 CDs that really made me prick up my ears and love music again:

Purple Rain-Prince and the Revolution: I was deep into my Michael Jackon and Judas Priest phase at 14 years old when I heard When Doves Cry on the radio on a family trip. It was the first time I let myself be challenged by what the notion of pop music was and get into the weirdness of this incredibly creative song. One month later I was at WalMart the day it came out and was forced to choose between the Jacksons new album and Purple Rain. I made the right choice. Michael was never good again, and Prince was my world for the next 10 years. After he dumped Wendy and Lisa, I quickly realized they were his weirdness, and he became a cheap imitation of himself. I’m still hoping he pulls his head out of his Jehova Witness ass and gets odd again.

David Sylvian’s Secrets of the Beehive still sounds as vital and new as it did 20 years ago. A precursor to Peter Gabriel and Talk Talk’s later output, this album is like no other ever made. You really just can’t compare his vocals and intricate instrumentation to any out there before or since. This is one of those CDs I can’t understand why EVERYONE doesn’t own. Its shear beauty on disc. He put so much thought into this, the world should have collectively thanked him. But only a handful of us crazy Sylvian fans took notice. Take a listen, and trust me on this one. Great autumn music Listen on lastfm

Kylie Minogue-Light Years. I wasn’t big on pure pop at the time, and certainly had lost track of Ms Minogue over the years, but one night while working at Borders Clark and Diversey in Chicago, I saw the cover of her LTD Edition version with remixes and thought “well, if its crap, I’m gay enough to like the remixes”. And while the remixes were actually kind of crap, Light Years proved to be a brilliant shiny listen all the way through. Instead of pops usual drum machine/keyboard throw aways, real thought was put into this album. Its just a great feel good CD, and it got me looking into other overseas pop which still stands up today. Also see: Robbie Williams The Ego Has Landed.

That’s it for now. More later. I just felt really inspired by those 2 new fantastic recordings. What are yours?

Love love,

Marc

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Trapped indoors with a fabulous CD player, Volume 1…”

  1. David Says:

    Marc

    Been waiting for the new Keane, glad it’s better than Under the Iron Sea (which had only one song I really only kinda liked).

    Looked up Dead Confederate on iTunes. Loved the sound and will buy it next week when I go back to work.

    Thanks for the info.

    xxoo

    David

  2. Brad Krillenberger Says:

    I love that picture of you! I’m learning so much from your postings.

  3. Andréa Robinson Says:

    I have to chime in, dear cousin, because (a) I can vouch for the fact that you had more Michael Jackson memorabilia than anyone I’ve ever known and (b) because you dubbed me the “Purple Rain” tape on one of my childhood visits to STL. And if you were really 14, I guess I was about 6 or 7 at the time, and I’m fairly certain it was the second tape I ever owned, after “Thriller”, of course. I’m confident if I did enough digging, I could find that tape with your handwriting on it. Besides thinking you were a really cool cousin (still are!), I thought it was so clever that the song titles had fun abbreviations in them like “4 U”. Thanks for introducing me to music that amazingly still stands the test of time…

  4. If I Could Only Have Five Albums on my iPod « ORD to LAX Says:

    […] right.  Desert Island lists are lame. So I choose a musical scenario where I’m only allowed to put five complete albums on my […]

Leave a Reply

