Marc’s Music Vault 2

by

This post really could fall under our Music posts AND our crush of the moment. Mmmmmm….Duncan Sheik

half-life

The tune I’m posting today really didn’t have much of a shot at being a hit although it was a ‘single’. Put out as the 2nd single from his final album with Warner Bros, Half Life (right click the above link to download) works on 2 levels, personal and anthemic. This song hit a personal note for me when it came out as I was kinda crushing on a friend of mine who was never going to love me back. It was like keeping this big secret inside, and I could tell no one. Listen to the lyrics and you’ll get it. But it also inspires me as a bit of an anthem. He writes of having a literal and figurative awakening after a nap. He just gets tired of living a lie and decides its time to make real change. He speaks of the half life all us gay boys and girls go through when not fully out of the closet. While I’m sure Duncan isn’t gay (as much as I hoped) I know the feeling is universal, and gay or straight, we’ve all been there.

I’m listening to the track now, and it always gets me choked up, on many levels.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Marc’s Music Vault 2”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Ahhhhhh One of my all time favorites.

    before the truth goes back into hiding
    I want to decide ’cause it’s worth deciding
    to work on finding something more than this fear

    Jesus. Underrated much?

  2. Cara Greenwood Says:

    I love this song!!! Its one of my all time favs!!!

  3. Tuck Says:

    This is one of my favorite songs, too. He’s so gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

