Speaking of Marriage

by

Marc,

I’m so thrilled for Kelly and Tony.  Nothing is as exciting, beautiful, infuriating and magical as getting to marry your other half.  I was lucky enough to do that 5 years ago tomorrow and there hasn’t been a boring day since.  I am still as blissfully happy as I was on that windy Saturday in downtown Chicago.  This is mostly the result of my choice in mates.  Andrew is the best husband and friend a person could choose for themselves.  He’s funny, sweet, giving and completely tolerant of my crap.  I couldn’t ask for anything more. I hope I never have to.

 

September 13, 2003

September 13, 2003

 

 

I know you skipped the commentary on gay marriage and I understand why.  Please forgive me if I’m not that judicious.  I think it’s appalling that in our country (a place I love despite it’s fucked-upness) people are not able to choose their legal partners.  Forget religion, (I usually do!) I am a living, breathing, voting citizen and I cannot understand the logic of denying that right to others, no matter their orientation.  I know I’m simplifying things, I know it isn’t this easy.  I get that we need a serious perception shift. Marriage isn’t for everyone, but I don’t think it’s unreasonable to have it available to anyone who would like to partake.

Rant finished. I’m sorry to speak for a population I am not part of, but this affects some of the people I love most in the world and it makes me sad.  I hope the outcome of this year’s election, we are able to start taking steps in the right direction.  

Have a wonderful weekend!  Please give Tony and Kelly my love and best wishes,

XO

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

